When practices partner with AGPAL for accreditation, they become part of a quality improvement community. As AGPAL is a profession led organisation, this ensures AGPAL practices can be guaranteed that they will receive the highest standard for professional accreditation service and support.

Being governed by seven member-organisations allows us to keep AGPAL practices and stakeholders up-to-date with accurate and timely industry information while making ethical decisions in accordance with best practice.

This governance structure allows AGPAL to work in partnership with each of our seven member-organisations to deliver more value and benefits to practices across Australia.

Australian Association of Practice Management (AAPM)

Founded and formally registered in 1979, AAPM is a non-profit, national peak association recognised as the professional body dedicated to supporting effective Practice Management in the healthcare profession.

AAPM members are employed in all areas of healthcare including general practice, allied health, dental, medical specialties, physiotherapy and podiatry. AAPM represents practice managers, business managers, service managers, CEOs and principals – the key-decision makers in a practice.


Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM)

ACRRM is accredited by the Australian Medical Council (AMC) for setting professional medical standards for training, assessment, certification and continuing professional development in the specialty of general practice.


Australian Medical Association (AMA)

The AMA is the peak membership organisation representing the registered medical practitioners and medical students of Australia.

The AMA represents doctors from across the medical profession – GPs, specialists, Doctors in Training, medical students, internationally trained doctors, researchers and academics – from all States and Territories. The AMA promotes and protects the professional interests of doctors and the healthcare needs of patients and communities.


Australian Practice Nurses Association (APNA)

APNA is the peak professional body for nurses working in primary healthcare. APNA champions the role of primary health care nurses; to advance professional recognition, ensure workforce sustainability, nurture leadership in health, and optimise the role of nurses in patient-centred care.


Consumer Health Forum (CHF)

CHF is the peak organisation providing leadership in representing the interests of Australian healthcare consumers. They work to achieve safe, good quality, timely healthcare for all Australians, supported by the best health information and systems the country can afford.


National Association of Medical Deputising Services (NAMDS)

NAMDS is the peak body representing after hours medical deputising services in Australia and seeks to facilitate and encourage high standards of after-hours primary medical care.

NAMDS develops and negotiates definitions and standards for medical deputising in Australia with Government, the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners and accreditation bodies to the betterment of patients, subscribing GPs and members.

Image of National Association for Medical Deputising (NAMDS) logo

The Rural Doctors Association of Australia (RDAA)

The RDAA is a national body representing the interests of rural medical practitioners and the communities they serve. Their vision is for excellent medical care for rural and remote communities right across Australia.

They are committed to building and maintaining a workforce of highly skilled and motivated rural medical practitioners. This requires adequate training and proper incentives, remuneration and support (both professional and personal).

RDAA comprises the Rural Doctors Associations (RDA) of each state. We also have a Northern Territory Chapter. RDA members are typically drawn from small rural towns and remote areas.