Latest news

QCert_2020_news template

GPs honoured in Australia Day awards

The 2022 Australia Day Honours have listed 16 former and current GPs among 1,040 Australians recognised this year.

This year’s accolades acknowledged the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic and how the recipients’ achievements are “a reminder and reflection of the richness of spirit, selflessness and good in our community”.

Across three categories, one GP was appointed Officer of the Order of Australia (AO), three became members of the Order of Australia (AM), and 12 received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

Here are the details in full:

Officer (AO) in the general division of the Order of Australia

Professor Sandra Jean Eades, Richmond, Vic

Member (AM) in the general division of the Order of Australia

Dr Cuong Trong Bui, Carindale, Qld
Professor Gregory Brian Crawford, Walkerville, SA
Dr Margaret Patricia Kay, Qld

Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the general division

Dr Denis Hugh Gordon, Belmont, NSW
Associate Professor Matthew Gray, Cobbitty, NSW
Dr Kerry Lyn Hancock, Somerton Park, SA
Dr Simon Hooton, Narangba, Qld
Dr Anthony Michaelson, Eltham, Vic
Associate Professor Bradley Charles Murphy, Windermere, Qld
Dr Harald Alexander Pope, Penrith, NSW
Dr Walter Geoffrey Roper, NSW
Dr Arnold Shmerling, Caulfield, Vic
Dr Deborah Simmons, Shute Harbour, Qld
Dr Edmund Bruce Spork, Newstead, Qld
Dr Furio John Virant, Penshurst, NSW

We congratulate and celebrate these dedicated and diligent practitioners for their contribution to medicine and society, in particular, Dr Furio Virant (Ray Rickard Medical Centre), who is a long-standing AGPAL Surveyor, and our clients Dr Edmund Spork of Ascot Medical Centre, Dr Arnold Shmerling of Wheelers Hill Clinic, Associate Professor Matthew Gray of Schwarz Family Practice, and Dr Kerry Lyn Hancock of Chandlers Hill Surgery. We have experienced their commitment to quality improvement and community first-hand. Thank you for your outstanding contributions to bettering healthcare across Australia.